Skip to product information
1 of 1

Harper Perennial

Eels: An Exploration, from New Zealand to the Sargasso, of the World's Most Mysterious Fish

Regular price $6.95 USD
Regular price Sale price $6.95 USD
Title: Eels: An Exploration, from New Zealand to the Sargasso, of the World's Most Mysterious Fish
Author: Prosek, James
ISBN: 9780060566128
Publisher: Harper Perennial
Published: 2011
Binding: Book
Language: English
Condition: Used: Very Good
Clean, unmarked copy with some edge wear. Good binding. Dust jacket included if issued with one. We ship in recyclable American-made mailers. 100% money-back guarantee on all orders.

Nature 1402968

Publisher Description:

"Eels [is] more than a fish book. It is an impassioned defense of nature itself. . . . [Prosek] passes on the truth that the often disdained eel, like all migratory fish, is vital and mysterious and worthy of our full effort to bring it back." -- New York Times Book Review

"A wonderful account of far-flung travels in pursuit of the secrets of the earth's most mysterious fish. . . . Fascinating and beautifully rendered." -- Peter Matthiessen

Famous for his deeply informed, compulsively readable books on trout, James Prosek (whom the New York Times has called "the Audubon of the fishing world") takes on nature's quirkiest and most enigmatic fish: the eel. Fans of Mark Kurlansky's Cod and The Big Oyster or Trevor Corson's The Secret Life of Lobsters will love Prosek's probing exploration of the hidden deep-water dwellers. With characteristically captivating prose and lavish illustrations, Prosek demystifies the eel's unique biology and bizarre mating routines, and illuminates the animal's varied roles in the folklore, cuisine, and commerce of a variety of cultures.